SettingsSettings Subscribe  


Australia Melbourne Town Hall

2012  Five Dollar reverse 2012  Five Dollar obverse

2012 Five Dollar

Reverse Designer:Wojciech Broadley Obverse Designer:Ian Rank Broadley Size:39mm Weight:20g Edge:Reeded Composition:92% Copper
6% Aluminium
2% Nickel


Sales History


In 2012 the Royal Australian Mint produced a four coin set that features the town halls of Perth, Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney. The coins are of a five dollar denomination and are produced from bronze with an antiqued finish. This piece was released at the ANDA Money Expo in Melbourne and features the Melbourne City Hall. The reverse features an elegant front view of the Melbourne Town Hall with the legend "MELBOURNE TOWN HALL" and the denomination "FIVE DOLLARS." The obverse features the Ian Rank-Broadley portrait of HM Queen Elizabeth II with the legend "ELIZABETH II AUSTRALIA 2012."

Construction of the Melbourne Town Hall began in 1867 at the corner of Swanston and Collins Streets. (Heritage Council Victoria, 2017) It was built on the site of an earlier constructed Town Hall which had quickly proven too small to service the rapidly growing city. The new building was designed by the prominent Melbourne architects Reed and Barnes and included a substantial public hall, administrative offices, Lord Mayor's rooms and council chambers. In the mid-1880s to late 1890s the new Town Hall served as venue for a number of important meetings within the Australian Federation movement.

Find out what dealers are paying with a subscription.

Subscribe now!

Find out what coins have actually sold for and where with a Standard/Professional subscription.

Subscribe now!