SettingsSettings Subscribe  


Australia Northern Territory

2001  Twenty Cent reverse 2001  Twenty Cent obverse

2001 Twenty Cent

Reverse Designer:Lisa Brett Obverse Designer:Ian-Rank Broadley Size:28mm Weight:11.31g Edge:Reeded Composition:75% Copper
25% Nickel


Sales History


This twenty cent piece was released by the Royal Australian Mint in 2001 as part of their extensive program celebrating the Centenary of Federation. The piece commemorates the inclusion of Northern Territory in the Australian Federation. The reverse was designed by student Lisa Brett from Leanyer Primary School in the Northern Territory. Central to her design are two Brolgas, a type of crane native to the Northern Territory, and in the background are the mountains of the Territory. The student's initials LB have been integrated into the design on the right mountain. The obverse features the Ian Rank-Broadley portrait of HM Queen Elizabeth II and the surrounding legend reads ELIZABETH II AUSTRALIA 2001.

Initials of the designer Lisa Brett (LB) on the 2001 Proof (Northern Territory) Twenty Cent piece. Initials of the designer Lisa Brett (LB) on the 2001 Proof (Northern Territory) Twenty Cent piece.

The coin was included in two sets issued throughout the year - the Northern Territory three coin set, and the twenty coin Centenary of Federation collection. Each set was issued in both proof and uncirculated varieties.

Attempts to settled in the north of Australia failed multiple times due to the areas isolation and harsh conditions. (Ted Ling, 2017) In the early 1860s northern Australia was taken under the control of the South Australian Government. In 1869 the northern settlement of Darwin was established. In the following decade gold was discovered in the area helping to promote settlement in the area. In 1889 the premier of New South Wales, Henry Parks, proposed the creation of a united Australian government. 1901 the plan came to fruition with the establishment of the new Australian Commonwealth. Within the commonwealth was state of South Australia which remained in control of northern Australia. In 1911 the Northern Territory assumed the responsibility of the Commonwealth from South Australia.

Find out what dealers are paying with a subscription.

Subscribe now!

Find out what coins have actually sold for and where with a Standard/Professional subscription.

Subscribe now!