SettingsSettings Subscribe  


Australia Victoria

2001  Twenty Cent reverse 2001  Twenty Cent obverse

2001 Twenty Cent

Reverse Designer:R. Ladd and M Obverse Designer:Ian-Rank Broadley Size:28mm Weight:11.31g Edge:Reeded Composition:75% Copper
25% Nickel


Sales History


This twenty cent piece was released by the Royal Australian Mint in 2001 as part of their extensive program celebrating the Centenary of Federation. The piece commemorates the inclusion of Victoria in the Australian federation. The reverse was designed by students and friends Ryan Douglass Ladd and Mark Aaron Kennedy, from Lara Primary School. Their design features the Royal Exhibition Building which housed the first sitting of Federal Parliament in 1901. Curving around the building is the states floral emblem - the common heath. The legend 'Centenary of Federation' and '1901 - 2001' curves around the top and the denomination '20 CENTS' overlays the design. The obverse features the Ian Rank-Broadley image of HM Queen Elizabeth II and the surrounding legend reads ELIZABETH II AUSTRALIA 2001.

The coin was included in two sets issued throughout the year - the Victorian three coin set, and the twenty coin Centenary of Federation collection. Each set was issued in both proof and uncirculated varieties.

The British first settled in Victoria in 1834 and in 1851 the colony of Victoria separated from the colony of New South Wales. (Museum of Australian Democracy, 2017) At the same time gold was discovered and the states population exploded with immigrants seeking their fortunes in the Victorian goldfields. In 1889 the premier of New South Wales, Henry Parkes, proposed the creation of a united Australian government. A number of Victorian organisations and leaders supported the idea - most prominent among them was the Australian Natives Association (ANA) and Bendigo's John Quick. Quick proved to be a indispensable advocate for Federation and was knighted for his efforts. (Michele Maslunka, 1988) In 1898 Victoria (along with New South Wales, Tasmania, and South Australia) voted on whether or not to accept the newly drafted Australian Constitution. Victoria voted in favour of the constitution and on the 1st of January 1901 the new Australian federation was established. The first Commonwealth Parliament was held in the Royal Exhibition Building in Melbourne. Federal Parliament was then moved to the Victorian state government's Parliament House where it met until it was moved to Canberra in 1927.

Find out what dealers are paying with a subscription.

Subscribe now!

Find out what coins have actually sold for and where with a Standard/Professional subscription.

Subscribe now!