SettingsSettings Subscribe  


Australia South Australia

2001 Proof Twenty Cent reverse 2001 Proof Twenty Cent obverse

2001 Proof Twenty Cent

Reverse Designer:Lisa Murphy Obverse Designer:Ian-Rank Broadley Size:28.5mm Weight:11.31g Edge:Reeded Composition:75% Copper
25% Nickel


Sales History


This twenty cent piece was released by the Royal Australian Mint in 2001 as part of their extensive program celebrating the Centenary of Federation. The piece commemorates the inclusion of South Australia in the Australian Federation. The reverse was designed by student Lisa Murphy from Yankallia Area School in South Australia. The design features iconic images which are representative of South Australia - including the Southern Cross, Sturts Desert Pea, and rounded hills. The students initials LM have been integrated into the design. The legend Centenary of Federation and SOUTH AUSTRALIA curves around the top and the denomination 20 CENTS overlays the design. The obverse features the Ian Rank-Broadley portrait of HM Queen Elizabeth II with the legend ELIZABETH II AUSTRALIA 2001.

The initials of Lisa Murphy (LM) on the Obverse of the 2001 (South Australia) Proof Twenty Cent. The initials of Lisa Murphy (LM) on the Obverse of the 2001 (South Australia) Proof Twenty Cent.

The coin was included in two sets issued throughout the year - the South Australian three coin set, and the twenty coin Centenary of Federation collection. Each set was issued in both proof and uncirculated varieties.

Unlike the other Australian Colonies, no convicts were ever transported to South Australia. (Museum of Australian Democracy, 2017) This appealed to settlers and lead to many wealthy free settlers arriving and purchasing large plots of land. Initially the colony was managed by a British appointed governor but in 1857 the state was given responsible government. In 1894 South Australia became among the first women in the world to be given the right to vote. In 1889 the premier of New South Wales, Henry Parkes, proposed the creation of a united Australian government. In 1898 South Australia (along with New South Wales, Tasmania, and Victoria) voted on whether or not to accept the newly drafted Australian Constitution. South Australia voted in favour of the constitution and on the 1st of January 1901 the new Australia federation was established.

Find out what dealers are paying with a subscription.

Subscribe now!

Find out what coins have actually sold for and where with a Standard/Professional subscription.

Subscribe now!