SettingsSettings Subscribe  


Australia Australian Capital Territory

1993 Proof Ten Dollar reverse 1993 Proof Ten Dollar obverse

1993 Proof Ten Dollar

Reverse Designer:Horst Hahne Obverse Designer:Raphael Maklouf Size:34mm Weight:20g Edge:Reeded Composition:92.5% Silver
7.5% Copper


Sales History


This commemorative ten Dollar coin is one piece from an 8 coin set known as the State Series. They were released on an annual basis between the years of 1985-1993, excluding the year 1988. Each coin commemorates a different Australian State or Territory and bears the Coat of Arms of each one. This coin paying tribute to the Australian Capital Territory was the eighth in the series and issued in 1993. It was joined by Victoria, South Australia, New South Wales, Queensland, Western Australia, Tasmania and Northern Territory. Each of the coins were produced in sterling silver in both proof and mint state condition. The reverse of the coin was designed by Horst Hahne and features the Coats of Arms of Australian Capital Territory. The legend reads 10 DOLLARS at the bottom and AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY at the top. The obverse features Raphael Maklouf's portrait of her Majesty Queen Elizabeth with the legend reading ELIZABETH II AUSTRALIA 1993.

The two different versions of the coin were issued in different kinds of packaging. The proof coin was issued in a black, hinged presentation box. The outer box of which reads ROYAL AUSTRALIAN MINT, $10 PROOF COIN, STATE SERIES, 1993. The mint state specimen was sealed onto a card and presented in a wallet style case also including a description card which provided a brief introduction to the history of the state. Once the entire series had been released a large black presentation case was issued suitable to house the entire series.

The Australian Capital territory is the smallest internal self-governing territory of Australia and it's only city is Canberra. It was made part of the commonwealth by the State of New South Wales to which it had previously belonged in 1911. Canberra was named the capital city in 1913 and became home to parliament in 1927. The rest of the territory that is not considered to be Canberra is mainly agricultural land, national park and a few small towns. The floral emblem for the territory is the Royal bluebell and the bird emblem is the Gang-gang cockatoo. As the Australian Capital Territory doesn't have it's own coat of arms's this commemorative coin features that of Canberra, which is generally used to represent the ACT. The Coat of arms of Canberra was granted in 1928 by King George V after a competition was held to find the best design, which was won by MR. C. R. Wylie. The shield features a castle, sword, white rose and imperial crown with an imperial crown, portcullis and gum tree on top to form the crest. The supporters are a black swan on one side and a white one on the other. There is motto, written in English reading "For the Queen, the Law and the People". Obviously the motto has been adapted accordingly and originally read For the King.

Find out what dealers are paying with a subscription.

Subscribe now!

Find out what coins have actually sold for and where with a Standard/Professional subscription.

Subscribe now!